The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 102

User Info Menu

I don't know where I post this thread, the teaching thread seems more for teaching gigs and requests.

For those who went to music school at a university or majored in music, was it worth it? How did it turn out? Do you have any regrets?

I graduated from a prominent music school in the United States (I won't name it, I don't want anyone who might be on faculty there to see this and revoke my degree for criticizing the program or university) and despite the fact I was pretty miserable there for three of the four years and it's been almost 4 years since I retired from professional music altogether, I don't regret studying music there. I was able to study with one of the best jazz guitarists to have ever walked the planet as well as other professors in the jazz program that played different instruments. Private lessons, ensemble classes, and ear training classes is where I saw the most progression in my entire career. I improved so fast purely as a musician at a pace I didn't know was possible. Nowadays, I can get away with going days or weeks without practicing and not sounding rusty. With the ear training classes, of the 600 or so songs I had memorized when I was at my prime in my career, I've only forgotten about 150-200 largely due to the fact that if I can hear the melody in the head, I know what the chord changes are. I was able to study a foreign language for 2 years which turned out to be useful when I moved to Spain to teach English a few years ago. With the scholarship money I got to study there, that was contingent on me staying in the music department, going to college and graduating with a Bachelor's degree became a reality for me and opened up many doors for me since I retired from professional music in 2020, namely having one of the many credentials to teach English abroad.