The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Posts 26 to 38 of 38

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by RJVB View Post
    I was thinking the same about simple earplugs, and IEMs, in fact. Though I don't really see why we'd distinguish them from simple plugs. Because I suppose they're basically in-ear headphones that double as protective earplugs? (I expected this thread to be about recommendations for good ones)
    Since you asked...

I've been using IEMs since about 2018. Before that, I used foam earplugs for over 30 years on all but solo or small group quiet gigs. I always hated earplugs because they felt weird, I couldn't enjoy the sound of my guitar, and I was never completely sure I wasn't playing too loudly or too quietly so I was always asking others if my volume was OK. I discovered that there was a set of Shure PSM900 systems at my regular twice-weekly gig, so I decided to try them and just plugged my ordinary high end corded ear buds into the wireless belt pack receiver. I loved it! Good ear buds and IEMs are as effective as foam plugs at attenuating external noise, so the buds worked well just to reduce external SPL by about 20 dB at 1 kHZ and up to 30+ dB in the highs. Being able to hear everything well was a bonus.

About 2 years ago, I bought a set of BASN B SInger Pro IEMs on the recommendation of a friend who used high end Shures and others for years but discovered that the $50 BASNs sounded very close to as good, were more comfortable and stable, and cost about 1/5 as much as the intermediate Shures she was using (the top Shures are $1k). They come in a good little zipped carrying case and are cheap enough so that she could have several pairs to keep in travel bags, car etc.