The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 22 of 22

User Info Menu

(I apologize if this is the wrong forum),

Copyright law doesn't protect AI. That's why. So, that's important if you intend on selling your music and want copyright protection of your original compositions.

I've copyrighted (meaning, 'registered with the US Copyright Office') maybe some 40 or so compositions, and I've studied copyright law. (yes, I know a song is technically copyrighted the moment it's put into the real world, but it means squat if you are sued and you didn't get it registered [because no lawyer will take the case, the law won't back you up] ).

I'm not a lawyer, so watch this video by a copyright lawyer regarding AI. the long and short of it is that AI music cannot
    be protected by copyright law. And if you are seeking sync licenses for a TV show, or film, contracts always have you assure
    them that you have full authorship, or co authorship (with another human) which equal 100%. Yes, there are grey areas, like drum tracks, AI contributions, but overall, the composition has to be substantially yours. don't ask me about rap songs, I have no idea how they work in copyright law. but this lawyer gets into the weeds of the subject, and it's good stuff to know.

If you don't have time to watch it, here's quick (AI created, ironically) summary: