The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

A neighbor who worked on an archtop for me put GHS 1800 Compound wound Nickel in it (1988 or so). He really like them and recommended them.

I wasn't sure what their strengths were and changed strings later. As a beginner I found them uneven in volume but it may well have been me.

I was thinking about them recently since I got another archtop and couldn't remember who made them, or find them by description. I e-mailed GHS to ask if it was them, but no reply.

I found another set in the basement this weekend (!) and thus could search with the exact name, only to find out they are discontinued.

The wrapper seems to imply they have a wound 3rd and double-wound 5th & 6th. I could be wrong, but that's what I read in the description.

Does anyone know if there is anything out there these days using different terminology for the double wrap? Or what the benefit of that construction would be?

To me it sounds like a good candidate product for discontinuation if people weren't clamoring for them.

Thanks

Murray

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Double winding has 2 main justifications that I know of:
    - using a finer outer winding makes for less fingernoise
    - different alloys can be used, e.g. one that is ferromagnetic and one that gives a nicer acoustic tone.
    They're also supposed to be more flexible, thus more comfortable (lower "apparent tension").

Newtone make them. I've tried them once but found that the fingernoise was barely reduced, the comfort not really different from normal strings, and on top of that their intonation felt weird. As if the 2 layers of winding caused (fluctuating) inhomogeinities, possibly caused by the fact that I like to dig in. I brought that up on a big acoustic forum and the consensus indeed seemed to be that double-winding is a technique used for and useful in piano strings but not really suitable for guitar strings.