The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Hi, my modest little quartet plays through a PA at most gigs. The guitar sounds OK but not as nice as when I play through my amp. So I think I have a couple of choices. mic up my existing amp or get a Quilter tone block ( or similar) and use that through the PA. Monitoring is a consideration so perhaps the mic option is better as I would also hear my amp rather than rely on the PA monitors.

Any recommendations for a reasonably priced mic or any alternatives to a Quilter? or is there another way. I’m quite new to this.

Thanks.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

If you're going to mic, get a Shure SM57. It's like $100 and the best option.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by AllanAllen
    If you're going to mic, get a Shure SM57. It's like $100 and the best option.
    you can find them for about 1/2 that used.
    I still use 57's because I have a bunch I've acquired cheap over the years but a lot of people like the Sennheiser E906 and you don't need a stand, you can drape it over the amp.

User Info Menu

I use an SM58 copy. It's totally adequate and I get the sound of my Polytone 10" speaker thru the PA. And I can hear the sound I want to hear from my amp.
    If I have a rare amp failure I plug into a Bad Monkey (effect turned off) using the 'mix' output straight into the desk. It acts as a speaker simulation. It's a bit of a compromise but I hear myself through the foldback. It works very well.

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Geospectrum
    Hi, my modest little quartet plays through a PA at most gigs. The guitar sounds OK but not as nice as when I play through my amp. So I think I have a couple of choices. mic up my existing amp or get a Quilter tone block ( or similar) and use that through the PA. Monitoring is a consideration so perhaps the mic option is better as I would also hear my amp rather than rely on the PA monitors.