The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Posts 26 to 35 of 35

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by rpjazzguitar
    Most of the great players I know have copied solos. Some write them down. Some do it regularly.

Most have, but not all. I know some terrific players who will admit that they don't transcribe much, if at all, and they don't practice with a metronome (one recommends it to others, but doesn't do it himself).

But, to make it clear, most great players I know have transcribed a lot and are good at it.

I've never enjoyed transcription, mostly because I'm not good at it. The usual advice is, do more of it, and you'll get better. That might require self-discipline <g>.

When I try I often get stuck on trying to figure out an unusual sounding chord in a recording that kind of murky and it can be frustrating. Melody is much easier. Hear a few notes, sing them and then find them on the guitar.

I think the conventional wisdom is that there's no advantage to not-transcribing. It seems to me that not-transcribing just might force a player to find his own vocabulary, which could contribute to the development of an individual style. The conventional wisdom differs - most suggest that transcribing eventually leads to an individual style, presumably with more breadth melodically and harmonically.

I also wonder if copying solos with one's voice and not the guitar would work. For that matter, why not imitate Frank Sinatra's or Nat Cole's or Tony Bennett's phrasing by singing along?