The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 176

User Info Menu

I'm a jazz guitar novice and I'm having difficulty with the concept of analyzing a piece of music/chord. What is it that I'm analyzing? And, why? Analyzing 1 6 2 5 and 2 5 1 progressions...once more, what am I analyzing? How do I analyze something?

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Oooooh.

So looking for key centers and doing harmonic analysis is very useful.

Like in All the Things You Are …

Ab: vi ii V I IV … C: ii V I

That information informs the way you play the changes — what passing notes and neighbor notes you might like with the chords. Of course can help you find scalar passages.

On top of that … when you get a handle on that sort of thing, Christians videos on this are really useful. There are four. Can’t find them all right now:

User Info Menu

For a start...

Analysis is part of the process between something you can't do or understand becoming something you can do or understand. You may analyse with music theory, or fingering/picking, or by ear, depending on your purpose. If Jazz may have a hierarchy of analytical organization, the chords and progressions wing of it might look something like this:

- genre
    - song
    - form (the sections, their sequence, A, ABAB, AABA, etc,)
    - chord patterns within form sections (1 6 2 5, 2 5 1, etc.)
    -
    chord type functions in patterns (a big topic of analysis)
    - chord type construction (tones, extensions, alterations)
    - intervals (number and quality)
    - scale degrees
    - notes

Analysis is about what distinguishes something from others, and what they have in common. To reduce confusion, first identify the level of the analysis.
    The hierarchy is not a gradient of increasing difficulty; some of the upper levels of organization may be more easily grasped than some of the lower levels.

User Info Menu