The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Posts 1 to 25 of 26

User Info Menu

Hi,

My 1966 DR is cutting in and out on both channels. First thought: New tubes? If so, where do you recommend I get them? Or might it be another problem? I would appreciate your thoughts. I have learned a lot here over the years. Thank you for any assistance.

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Quote Originally Posted by Phil59 View Post
    Hi,

My 1966 DR is cutting in and out on both channels. First thought: New tubes? If so, where do you recommend I get them? Or might it be another problem? I would appreciate your thoughts. I have learned a lot here over the years. Thank you for any assistance.
    I'm not an expert and nobody should believe anything I say about this. Except, believe this: there is voltage in the caps even after the amp is turned off and unplugged. So, if you don't know what you're doing, you could do something dangerous.

Caveats aside, I would suggest gently wiggling and pressing things to see if you can reproduce the crackling. That would include the speaker leads, the face plate, reseating the tubes, pressing and wiggling the connections to the reverb tank, wiggling the input jack (gently) and anything else pressable or wiggleable. I'd also suggest looking at the tubes when the amp is on and seeing if any of them look funny. Power cable? If the pilot light doesn't flicker, it's probably not that.

If you're pressing a metal part, consider doing it with something made of a non conductive material, like a drumstick or chopstick. Plug the amp into a powerstrip with a switch and make sure you can reach the switch instantly. Please don't ask me how I know that.

Others may advise swapping identical tubes in different positions and seeing if that makes a difference.

User Info Menu

90% of a tube amps issues are tube related.
    Check to see that the power tubes are glowing normally, and not red plating.