The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

hi i'm quite new to all this so forgive my ignorance but i'm looking to purchase a quality laminate archtop that costs around 1500usd with a relatively thin and short neck (no longer than 25 inches) and a floating neck pickup.

I don't know much about all the technical considerations, but i'm hoping for something with the natural resonance of a thin carved solid top; where i live's pretty humid so it wouldn't be wise to get a solid top (rlly dashed my hopes of saving up for a loar lh650). currently looking for one with a nice mellow tone that's still fat without having much of an overly tappy-sounding attack, especially when played even acoustically; i don't know how realistic that is for a laminate though.

The demos i've been listening to always seem to sound so artificial and forced when played unplugged.

I did come across this clip of a cort lcs which sounds alright acoustically:

as well as of an ibanez af55 (but it was modded a fair bit).

1500's a lot of money for me so i just want to make sure i'm doing as much as i can;

I'm far from done looking and merely thought it was time i made an account and asked here. while i know i ought to try them out for myself, i don't really have that option where i'm from; barely any archtops outside of bright Gretschs and semi-hollows so i'm mostly relying on sound samples, forums, specs listings, and string considerations.

It probably comes across as borderline mad and undeservingly profligate for a kid to even consider draining out all their savings this way but amen i really really want a jazzbox :'))

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Here's everything you want...

Ibanez George Benson GB10SE Hollowbody Guitar Brown Sunburst w/ Case Just a moment...

User Info Menu