The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary
Reply to Thread Bookmark Thread
Posts 1 to 11 of 11
    So,I'm new to Jazz (as this query likely suggests...).

Having done some research, I've found that the most common Jazz Chord Progressions are:

• Major ii-V-I (including altering the V chord)
    • Minor ii-V-I
    • Turnaround I-VI-ii-V (and the variations on this i.e. I-vi-ii-V; I-#Idim-ii-V; iii-VI-ii-V; III-VI-II-V etc etc.)
    • I7-IV7
    • Take the A Train I-II7-ii-V-I
    • Passing Dim I-#Idim-ii-#iidim-iii-VI7
    • 4 minor IVMaj7-IVm7

I'm sure there's plenty more (and please share if there are ones that I've missed).

My question is that, in order to begin being able to improvise over these changes, I'll need to have some solid vocabulary / licks to play over these changes.
    Can someone please advise me on whether there are 'standard' lines & where I might find these?

I know the advice might be "listen to recordings are transcribe lines that grab you", but I'm not at the stage of recognising some of these progressions by ear yet, so getting some lines under my fingers now is something that I'd like to do in the meantime.

Thanks

The Jazz Guitar Chord Dictionary

User Info Menu

Jazz Conception for Guitar by Jim Snidero, and the associated Study Guide

User Info Menu

Before you "play licks" over progressions that are new to you..

Play each chord arpeggio
    Play the 1235 scale tones of the chord
    Find the key of the progression-play the major scale of that key
    use some melodic patterns from that scale: example--

In the key of C major

scale tones 2315 --DECG--over Cmaj7
    use this pattern for all the chords in the C scale--Example

Dmin7 EFDA

Emin7 FGEB

FMaj7 GAFC--and so on

from there you can be creative with this kind of thinking..

use rhythmic variations..and octave displacement..

play the pattern in different orders

Play the 1 3 5 tones of all the chords in the progression in all positions.